Requirements to Obtain a Broker License:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a US Citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien under federal law
- You are not required to be a resident of North Carolina
- Complete 75 credit hours of Real Estate Principles, Law of Agency, Law of Contracts, and Real Estate Law
- Complete a background check
- Apply for your license after you have completed the 75 hours of coursework and pass the course exams
- Schedule your North Carolina Licensing Exam once you receive your notice of exam eligibility from the Commission.
- You have three years from the date your application is filed to pass the examination
- Take and pass the North Carolina Licensing Exam with a 75% or higher
- The exam is given electronically, and you will receive your results at the testing center immediately upon completion.
- After successfully passing the examination, you will be issued your Provisional Broker’s License
- Complete 90 hours of state-mandated postlicening education within 3 years
- Complete a total of 8 hours of state-approved continuing education by June 10 of every year
- Complete a 4-hour General Update Course or a 4-hour Broker-in-Charge Update course in a live classroom
- The remaining 4 hours of elective credit may be completed through an online course