Posted by: J.Y. Monk Real Estate School
Published: November 6, 2018
To begin a real estate career in Tennessee, you must meet a number of specific requirements to earn and use your affiliate broker’s license. By earning a license in Tennessee, you will be able to legally act as a real estate associate broker in Tennessee only. The Tennessee Real Estate Commission (TREC) specifically dictates the requirements you must meet to earn and keep your broker’s license.
You must be at least 18 years of age to earn your Tennessee affiliate broker’s license and become a real estate agent. Young real estate professionals often find it difficult to find leads and build a career in real estate, especially when many of their competitors have been practicing for decades. But young real estate professionals bring ambition and enthusiasm to the job that could give them an advantage in jumpstarting a successful real estate career.
Formal Education Requirements
In Tennessee, you must have a high school degree or equivalent to become a real estate agent. There is no required post-secondary formal education requirements.
Tennessee Real Estate License Education Requirements
As a candidate for becoming an affiliate broker, you must complete the mandatory 60-hour Real Estate Principles Course before you register to take the state licensing exam.
J.Y. Monk is an approved Tennessee real estate school and is legally approved for offering prelicensing education. A list of all approved schools can be found on the TREC website.
You must register and pass the Affiliate Broker’s Exam through PSI Exams, the exam provider. You can register by submitting the Affiliate Broker application to TREC; it takes about 4 weeks for this process. You can find more information about registering on TREC's website. In order to pass the exam, you must earn at least a 70%. The exam is designed to test your command of real estate practices, policy, and vocabulary. It ensures that all real estate agents begin their careers on a level platform of basic industry knowledge. To prepare for the exam, many students will participate in an exam prep course or purchase a study tool designed to help them practice for the exam. Exam prep courses are not required by the state in order to sit for the exam. They are designed to help you assess your current command of critical concepts and brush up on your areas of weakness. You can schedule your exam on the PSI website.
Additional Real Estate Education Requirements
Complete the Tennessee 30-Hour Course for New Affiliates
TREC mandates that you complete the Tennessee 30-Hour Course for New Affiliates before applying for an affiliate broker license. The purpose of this course is to prepare you for your real estate career.
Continuing Education Requirements
Every two years, as a requirement to keep an affiliate broker license originally issued on or after July 1, 1980, the affiliate broker must complete 16 classroom hours in real estate courses at any school, college, or university approved by the TREC. This must include the 6-hour Tennessee required Core Course.