Posted by: JY Monk Real Estate School
Published: November 8, 2018
If you want to begin a South Carolina real estate career, there are a number of specific requirements you must meet to earn and use your broker’s license. Earning a license in South Carolina will grant you the licensure you need to legally act as a real estate broker in South Carolina only. As a result, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission specifically dictates the requirements you must meet to earn and keep your broker’s license.
First of all, you must be at least 18 years of age to earn your South Carolina real estate license and become a real estate agent. Young real estate professionals often find it difficult to find leads and build a career in real estate, especially when many of their competitors have been practicing for decades. But young real estate professionals bring ambition and enthusiasm to the job that could give them an advantage in jumpstarting a successful real estate career.
Formal Education Requirements
In South Carolina, you need to have a high school diploma or GED in order to get your real estate license.
South Carolina Real Estate License Education Requirements
You must complete a 60-hour broker prelicensing course in order to qualify to take the South Carolina state real estate broker licensing exam.
As part of your curriculum, you will be required to complete a post-course exam in order to pass the course and qualify to sit for the state exam.
J.Y. Monk is an approved South Carolina real estate school and is legally approved to offer prelicensing education.
To earn your license, you must complete and pass a state-administered real estate licensing examination. This exam includes both a national portion and a state-specific portion. The exam is designed to test your command of real estate practices, policy, and vocabulary. It ensures that all real estate agents begin their careers on a level platform of basic industry knowledge. To prepare for the exam, many students will participate in an exam prep course or purchase a study tool designed to help them practice for the exam. Exam prep courses are not required by the state in order to sit for the exam. They are designed to help you assess your current command of critical concepts and brush up on your areas of weakness.
Additional Real Estate Education Requirements
Once you’ve completed all requirements and passed the state exam, you will receive a South Carolina Provisional Broker’s License. In order to remove the provisional status of your license, you need to complete the state’s postlicensing education requirement.
Continuing Education Requirements
As a licensed South Carolina real estate broker, you are required to complete continuing education. The South Carolina Real Estate Commission requires you to complete 10 hours of continuing education every two years. Your continuing education must consist of at least four hours of a core course that covers real estate law and a minimum of four hours in mandated topics. You have the option of completing your continuing education online or in a classroom.
Once you have earned your real estate license, you must choose a broker-in-charge to practice under. You are not legally allowed to practice real estate if you don’t. Brokers-in-charge provide a number of support services you will need as a practicing real estate broker, as well as the stability and recognition of a well-known brand.