You are required by state law to attend and pass a state-approved 75-hour broker prelicensing course. After successfully completing the broker prelicensing course, you must pass the State Licensing Examination with a score of at least 75%. The North Carolina Real Estate Commission will then mail you a broker license, and you will be eligible to work for any real estate firm in North Carolina.
North Carolina law requires you to take your broker prelicensing course in a classroom. Correspondence and/or online prelicensing courses are not allowed in this state.
You must be at least 18 years of age to get a real estate license in North Carolina. You must be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien under federal law. You are not required to be a resident of North Carolina.